choreography 34 – 34. International Choreographic Competition Hannover

For the first time in its 34-year history, our competition cannot be held in the usual manner on June 5 and 6 at the Theater am Aegi. Instead of presenting the choreographies nominated for the competition publicly on the stage of the Theater am Aegi, the Hanover Ballet Company will show the works of the choreographers in digital form. The prizes to be awarded – the three main prizes as well as the Critics’ Prize and all production prizes – are to be presented! From June 1 to June 7, the submitted application videos will be shown on the website of the Ballett Gesellschaft Hannover. 

The Ballett Gesellschaft Hannover is thus sending an important signal in this time of crisis, when solidarity is more important than the idea of competition! One are currently living in an extraordinary time that is extremely challenging: All areas of public life lie idle. Many dance professionals are affected and face serious existential problems in continuing their work. It would be a bitter loss for the culture in our country if the free and established dance ensembles could no longer exist. Therefore, the Ballett Gesellschaft Hannover want to support the artists with the means at our disposal by continuing to offer them a platform to show their dance creations and to secure future work perspectives by awarding money and production prizes.

The preliminary jury – Henrietta Horn, choreographer, dancer, lecturer at the Folkwang University of the Arts and Johannes Wieland, Director Ballet and in-house choreographer at the Staatstheater Kassel – under the direction of the competition’s artistic director Gregor Zöllig, Artistic Director & Chief Choreograper Staatstheater Braunschweig, have nominated the following choreographers:

Catarina Casqueiro, Tiago Coelho, Portugal
Francisco Banos Diaz, Spain
Roberto Doveri, Italy
Frantics Dance Company, Spain/Italy
Jeremy Galdeano, Vera Kvarcakova, France / Czech Republic
Stefaniya Georigeva, Bulgaria
Tu Hoang, Vietnam
Justyne Li, Tan-Ki Wong , Hongkong
Jason Mabana, Belgium
Evgenie Melentyev, Russia
Qian Min, China
Arnau Pérez, Spain
Norge Cedeno Raffo, Cuba
Alessia Ruffolo, Kanada/Italy
Iron Skulls Co., Spain
Zoé de Sousa, France
Roberto Tedesco, Italy
Lucas Valente, Brasilia
Samuel Young-Wright, Australia
Liu Yang, China

Jury 2020
Jacopo Godani
– Director  and Choreograph Dresden Frankfurt Dance Compagnie
Marco Goecke – Director Ballet Staatstheater Hannover
Anna Konjetzky – Choreographer and Artist
Toula Limnaios – Choreographer, Interpreter and Artistic Director cie. toula limnaios
Honji Wang – Choreographer and Artistic Director  WR – Wang Ramirez
Richard Wherlock – Director Ballett Basel
Gregor Zöllig – Artistic Director & Chief Choreographer Staatstheater Braunschweig

Jury Production Awards 2020
Kevin Haigen – Artistic Director Bundesjugendballet
Guido Markowitz – Director Ballett Theater Pforzheim
Garry Stewart – Director Australian Dance Theatre
Stephan Thoss -Director Dance and Chief cCoreographer Nationaltheater Mannheim
Martin Stiefermann –   Artistic Director Residence Program Schloss Bröllinn e.V.
Ed Wubbe – Director Scapino Ballett, Rotterdam

Pre-Jury 2020
Henrietta Horn – Choreographer, Dancer, Lecturer at Folkwang Universität der Künste
Gregor Zöllig – Artistic Director & Chief Choreographer Staatstheater Braunschweig
Johannes Wieland – Artistic Director and Choreographer Dance Company Staatstheater Kassel

Critics Jury
Andreas Berger
, Braunschweiger Zeitung
Kerstin Hergt, HAZ
Henning Queren, Neue Presse Hannover
Falk Schreiber, free journalist
Dr. Lilo Weber, Neue Zürcher Zeitung

A total sum of 13.500.- EUR in prize money, as well as three production awards will be awarded. 1st prize = 6.000.- EUR / 2nd prize = 3.000.- EUR /
3rd prize = 2.000.- EUR / Audience award 1.000.- EUR / Award of the critics: 1.500.- EUR

Production Awards

NEW: NTM Production Award
The winner of the NTM Production Award receives the offer to work with the Ensemble of the NTM Dance to create a choreography that will be premiered on January 9, 2021 at the Nationaltheater Mannheim as part of a multi-part dance evening. The prize is awarded by Stephan Thoss, Director Dance and Chief Choreographer at the Nationaltheater Mannheim.

NEW: Production Award Theater Pforzheim
The Theater Pforzheim donates a production prize for the multi-part, contemporary ballet evening “TANZ PUR”. The winner is invited to create a world premiere in the spring of 2021 with dancers of the Ballett Theater Pforzheim, which will premiere as part of “TANZ PUR”. Ballet director Guido Markowitz, member of the jury, will award the prize. The artist’s fee includes the accommodation costs during the production period.

Residenz International Production Centre Schloss Bröllin e.V
The International Production Centre Schloss Bröllin e.V. – northeast of Berlin – offers one of the participants a residence with the possibility of working on a new production with their own dancers. Accommodation, food and studio will be provided – a mentor stands accompanying. The selection will be made by Martin Stiefermann, Artistic Director of the Residence Programme and movin´ bröllin.

Tanja Liedtke Scholarship
Since 2016 the Tanja Liedtke Foundation donated a three week’s scholarship at the Australian Dance Theatre in Adelaide, Australia. This Prize will be awarded by Garry Stewart, Director of The Australian Dance Theatre. The scholarship includes travel costs, accomodation, and ADT tuition.

Scapino Production Award
Since 2005 Ed Wubbe awards the Scapino production award. The award includes the development of an unique choreography with dancers from Scapino Ballet and the presentation in the series TWOOLS.

Bundesjugendballett Production Award
The Bundesjugendballett was founded by John Neumeier in  2011. Since 2012 the Bundesjugendballett  also sponsors a production award. Part of the award is the development of a choreography with the Bundesjugendballett.

Sponsors: Stiftung Niedersachsen, Landeshauptstadt Hannover, Calenberg Grubenhagensche Landschaft, VHV Stiftung, Region Hannover