Winners 34. International Competition for Choreographers Hannover 2020

Instead of presenting the choreographies nominated for the competition publicly on the stage of the Theater am Aegi, the Hanover Ballet Company showed the works of the choreographers* in digital form. The prizes to be awarded – the three main prizes, the audience prize, the critics’ prize and the production prizes – will be presented. The juries decided via online conference.

This year the pre-selection with Gregor Zöllig, Johannes Wieland and Henrietta Horn had to chose between over  250 choreographics, until 20 were permitted to the presentation:

Catarina Casqueiro, Tiago Coelho, Portugal, Francisco Banos Diaz, Spain, Roberto Doveri, Italy, Frantics Dance Company, Spain/Italy, Jeremy Galdeano, Vera Kvarcakova, France / Czech Republic, Stefaniya Georgieva, Bulgaria, Tu Hoang, Vietnam, Justyne Li, Tan-Ki Wong , Hongkong, Jason Mabana, Belgium, Evgenie Melentyev, Russia, Qian Min, China, Arnau Pérez, Spain, Norge Cedeno Raffo, Cuba, Alessia Ruffolo, Canada/Italy, Iron Skulls Co., Spain, Zoé de Sousa, France, Roberto Tedesco, Italy, Lucas Valente, Brasilia, Samuel Young-Wright, Australia und Liu Yang, China.

The jury of the 34. International Competition for Choreographers:Jacopo Godani – Director and Choreograph Dresden Frankfurt Dance Compagnie;Marco Goecke – Director Ballett Staatstheater Hannover; Anna Konjetzky – Choreographer and Artist; Toula Limnaios – Artistic Direction cie. toula limnaios; Honji Wang, Choreographer and Artistic Director  WR – Wang Ramirez; Richard Wherlock – Director Ballett Basel; Gregor Zöllig – Artistic Director & Chief Choreographer Staatstheater Braunschweig and Artistic Director of the competition awarded the following prizes:

1. price: : “Trial”, Tu Hoang, Vietnam

2. price: “Space”, Frantics Dance Company, Italy/Spain

3. price: “Toothpicks“, Francisco Banos Diaz, Spain

3. price : “Carnegie Solo“, Samuel Young-Wright, Australia

The critics jury –  Andreas Berger, Braunschweiger Zeitung; Kerstin Hergt, Hannoversche Allgemeine Zeitung,  Henning Queren, Hannoversche Neue Presse,  Falk Schreiber and Dr. Lilo Weber – presented their

critic´s price: “AGR Duet”, Roberto Tedesco, Italy

In addition to that the audience bestowed online the

audition price: “Trial“, Tu Hoang, Vietnam

NEW: NTM-Production Award, Theater Mannheim: “AGR Duet”, Roberto Tedesco, Italy

NEW: Production Award Theater Pforzheim: „Lunatica“, Roberto Doveri, Italy

Scapino Production Award: „Lunatica“, Roberto Doveri, Italy

Tanja Liedtke Scholarship: “Trial”, Tu Hoang, Vietnam

Residenz International Production Centre Schloss Bröllin e.V: „Peaux – deuxième Hymne“, Zoé de Sousa, France

Production Awards

NEW: NTM Production Award
The winner of the NTM Production Award receives the offer to work with the Ensemble of the NTM Dance to create a choreography that will be premiered on January 9, 2021 at the Nationaltheater Mannheim as part of a multi-part dance evening. The prize is awarded by Stephan Thoss, Director Dance and Chief Choreographer at the Nationaltheater Mannheim.

NEW: Production Award Theater Pforzheim:  The Theater Pforzheim donates a production prize for the multi-part, contemporary ballet evening “TANZ PUR”. The winner is invited to create a world premiere in the spring of 2021 with dancers of the Ballett Theater Pforzheim, which will premiere as part of “TANZ PUR”. Ballet director Guido Markowitz, member of the jury, will award the prize. The artist’s fee includes the accommodation costs during the production period.

Residenz International Production Centre Schloss Bröllin e.V:  The International Production Centre Schloss Bröllin e.V. – northeast of Berlin – offers one of the participants a residence with the possibility of working on a new production with their own dancers. Accommodation, food and studio will be provided – a mentor stands accompanying. The selection will be made by Martin Stiefermann, Artistic Director of the Residence Programme and movin´ bröllin.

Tanja Liedtke Scholarship: Since 2016 the Tanja Liedtke Foundation donated a three week’s scholarship at the Australian Dance Theatre in Adelaide, Australia. This Prize will be awarded by Garry Stewart, Director of The Australian Dance Theatre. The scholarship includes travel costs, accomodation, and ADT tuition.

Scapino Production Award: Since 2005 Ed Wubbe awards the Scapino production award. The award includes the development of an unique choreography with dancers from Scapino Ballet and the presentation in the series TWOOLS.